Fiesta de Santa Maria Guadalupe 2013 (12-12-2013)

12 Dec

Our Lady of Guadalupe Image

“Do not be troubled or weighed down with grief. Do not fear any illness or vexation, anxiety or pain. Am I not here who am your mother? Are you not under my shadow and protection? Am I not the Fountain of Life? Are you not in the folds of my mantle, in the crossing of my arms? Is there anything else you need?”

-Our Lady of Guadalupe to St. Juan Diego on December 12, 1531

Last night – I laid my head down to multiples of fireworks and bottle rockets alerting all of us in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico that tomorrow was THE DAY… an important day…  After all these centuries – this unique place still acknowledges and celebrates that important day, TODAY, when Our Lady of Guadalupe appeared to St. Juan Diego.  The image on his cloak is still intact and mounted in the Basílica de Santa María de Guadalupe in Mexico City.  It draws crowds of visitors – especially for the December 12th celebration.

My gardener, David, took his entire family to Mexico City for today’s festivities.  He said, “Es MUY important.”

Then, again this morning – I awoke to loud booms, fireworks, bottle rockets, church bells and music.  You cannot be in the midst of this celebration and not KNOW that something that “matters” is going on.

You know!

This humbling devotion that withstands the test of time has absolutely touched my heart and soul!

Fiesta de Santa Maria Guadalupe 2013

Above is the website dedicated to this year’s festivities.  I hope you can take a moment to have a “look-see”.  It’s easy to “see” the celebration comes from the heart-and-the-soul of the people.  Bystanders can’t help but be moved.

I’ve long had a fascination with La Virgen de Guadalupe.  The stories and the imagery just draw me in…  I’d like to share a few links to stories and accountings of this spectacular event.  Perhaps you’re interested too.  I’d like to record it for my own future self… (…if the truth be known…)

For starters ~ I like this synopsis from MexConnect that tells the story…

La Storia – Guadalupe La Virgen Indigena – from MexConnect

Next ~ a video of singing LAS MANANITAS to the Virgen de Guadalupe at the Basilca…  This is tradition.

You can see some features of the Basilica in the video.  The following Wikipedia article gives more information on this must-add-to-yours-and-my-bucket-list place to visit in Mexico City, Mexico.  I’ve not been yet – but I’m adding it to my 2014 list of places to visit here in Mexico.  (…and that list is getting CRAZY long, I might add…)  Here’s the entry.  Review when you have time.

Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe – Mexico City, Mexico

After researching some of this information – it peaked my interest to know a bit more about Juan Diego.  Here’s another tidbit, again from Wikipedia on this interesting man and this miraculous event that changed his life to sainthood.

Saint Juan Diego Cuauhtlatoatzin

Moving on with this fascinating and miraculous story… I ran across this most captivating video.

The video is almost 15 minutes, but gives history as well as pertinent details of the miraculous image of Our Lady of Guadalupe which appeared on Juan Diego’s cloak.

Another miracle is that the cloak & image are still intact (with no deterioration) (as noted above as well) from the event which occurred centuries ago in 1531!  See for yourself in Mexico City at the Basilica dedicated to La Virgen de Guadalupe. This event and the Mother Mary are what we are celebrating today.

I am intrigued…  And, I might add, that I believe in miracles.  There are many small miracles each day – I feel.  However something of this magnitude needs some proof.  This video (…at least in my opinion…) gives credence to what happened on 12-12-1531.

See for yourself and draw your own conclusions of course…  I feel this event is a bona fide miracle!

So…The Mexican people are not working today to participate in the fiestas and the tribute…

Take a moment to listen, see, meditate…enjoy!

The following video of enchanting imagery as well as the beautiful song are reflective of this beautiful, ancient celebration.

“Friend to all the friendless protector of the weak, oh, let us not be burdened now, but come and be our peace. Mother, hear your children and fill us with your love, Our Lady of Guadalupe pray for us.”

–Angus McDonael

Our Lady of Guadalupe Nicho

Leave a Reply

